1 today!

This blog is one years old . Woo Hoooo!

I’m not sure if it’s the correct exactly-a-year-ago-to-the-day date or anything; in fact it probably isn’t – but around about a year ago today I posted the very first In A Welsh Garden blog post, called ‘It’s A Harlequin!’. It was about Ladybirds living on the Christmas Tree at the bottom of our garden. And when we checked today we saw, that after a long winter, the ladybirds are back.

Thinking back to that first post it’s easy to tell that it was the first post. It took a lot of putting together,that post. But as time went on I settled into a more relaxed style of blogging.  I feel at home here now.

I hadn’t realised how much blogging has changed things for me until today when I looked back to that first post.  During a year of blogging I have rediscovered how much  I love to write. I’ve grown in confidence and dared to think that maybe I’m not too bad at it.  I’ve ‘met’ some great people in cyberspace through blogging (and tweeting) – people with sharp minds and interesting insights who bounce ideas off each other. It’s similar to when I’ve shared studios with other artists; how just being around other creative people can spur you on to create; and of how all of those ideas and creative minds inevitably inform each other. It’s that chain reaction thing that you get from being around other painters/writers/artists/creative people; from lighting the creative touch-paper. You don’t really get that from being a SAHM . I love the life I live; I chose it -but blogging has proved to be a bit of a creative lifeline to me; a much needed creative outlet.

It’s a bit like that old adage – ‘If you don’t use it you lose it’.  I was in real danger of losing my creativity under a barage of domesticity. Blogging has changed that for me. It has also given me back something that I had lost – direction.   Now I not only feel motivated again but I actually have a fairly good idea of where I want to go. Isn’t blogging ace?!

It’s been so fab ‘meeting’ other bloggers and discovering other blogs – I love popping over to different blogs that I’ve discovered on my cyber travels and reading these unique takes on life. My life is definately richer for it. I’ve loved reading the comments that people have left after my posts. I’ve loved leaving comments on other peoples blog posts. I’ve loved taking part in blog hops and going on ‘blog crawls’ : ) If I were to pick out blogging highlights of this year they would have to be Kath Eastman’s Wales Blog Awards blog hop @ The Nut Press (Thanks Kath – that was so fab!) and on a serious note the sobering experience of being involved with the AuthorsforJapan auction. Many times this year it has crossed my mind what an amazing invention the internet is,and how positively it can impact upon peoples lives. So often we only hear the negatives. 

To all my cyber friends in the blogosphere – Thankyou so much for being there and for supporting this blog, and for being so utterly fab.

Finally, why I blog about my garden: when I started blogging I needed a hook, anything, to write about, to get me writing. I heard somewhere that it’s a good idea to write about something that you know about.

I hope I’m still here blogging about it this time next year.And if not about that, then about something else.But still, you know, blogging.

About In a Welsh Garden

Artist,Illustrator,Pro-face and body painter,Blogger and Happy Gardener : )
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 1 today!

  1. I’ll say it here too! Happy Birthday Magic Garden of Cymru! Hope to read some more of your unique posts in the coming months 🙂

  2. Aw,Thanks Joanna – have you had your blog-day yet?

  3. Hooray! Happy belated birthday. I hope you ate a large cake. All by yourself. x

  4. – Sadly,no. But I shall. And Thankyou : )

Leave a Reply

