You don’t bring me flowers any more

This is not a post about Neil Diamond. Or Barbara Streisand. Heaven forfend. 

Don’t get me wrong – I am sure that both Mr Diamond and Ms S are both a couple of absolute Lovelies. But it’s just that song. I’m not a fan of it.  Which doesn’t explain why I have used said song title to head up this post.

The truth is, it just came into my head .

It was the first thing.

I bet real writers don’t do that kind of thing – that lurching for the first half baked title that floops into your head like it’s the last tin of beans on the supermarket shelf.  I know a few , I should ask them .

I’m not a writer . Not in the professional sense of the word . But I do write . I like to write. So that makes me what ? Someone who likes to write.

I trained as an artist , a visual artist . Sculpture. Installation Art. Land Art. Public Art.Community Art. All manner of Art. 

*  *  *  *  *  *  * 

Writing. I can feel the Artistic bit but  I know nothing of the Craft . A Craft takes years to learn .

*  *  *  *  *  *

Often when I am painting someone will say ‘you make it look so easy ‘ or ‘ I could do that’ . Maybe they could . I wish that they would try . They may surprise themselves.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *

Over the years I have covered many artistic bases and gone off on many creative tangents .

Blogging is a creative outlet like any other .  One that can be channelled once they’ve all gone to bed and the house is quiet .

Blogging keeps me sane . Maybe soon I will get time to paint too . I live in hope.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *

When I am at work (read : when I am getting paid for doing that which never feels like employment) I often get asked ‘ How long have you been doing this?’ (insert discipline of choice).  I hate this question above all others , although I always attempt to answer it.  How can I say ‘All my life?’ But I have. Everything that I have done and learnt and experienced up until this point in time informs what I do .

*  *  *  *  *  *

I don’t feel like an Artist, although I’ve got the T-shirt and the qualification to prove that I officially am one.  When I’m asked that nonsensical question ‘What do you do?’ I reply ‘I’m an – ‘ – and here I rear up like a reluctant horse just ahead of the jump – ‘Artist’ – and I’m almost apologising for being one. 

Why is this ? Is it because I don’t live in Italy where saying that you are an artist or a designer is greeted with the same enthusiasm that saying that you are a doctor or a dentist is over here?

Is it because it feels self indulgent ? Frivolous ? That I should be off saving lives instead ? That I feel guilty for being creative ? It was what I was born with . Natural Ability. What am I supposed to do – go off and dig roads ?

Or is it because it is so much a part of me that to separate it and give it a word , a name , a label , just feels absurd ?

It’s just me . It’s what I do . 

*  *  *  *  *  *  *

Being out there often seems to be about the spin. Bigging yourself up or getting others to big yourself up for you.

I’ve nothing against this. Shakespeare was right about the world being a stage and us being the players. It’s a global arena.  We all have bills to pay and children to feed. 

Sometimes Hype can be a triumph of style over content .  But I quite like style and I certainly respect it . Why give it a hard time ?

Sometimes Hype is superfluous. Stating the obvious that Something is Brilliant . Not Hype at all then , but Truth . Preaching to the converted 

Sometimes No Hype can be the Best Hype of all . Great Karma comes as standard with that one too.

I see no harm in a bit of bigging up , whether it’s for yourself or for someone else . We’ve all done it.  I’m not averse to it , on both counts . It is what it is , and what it is is a game.

*  *  *  *  *  *

I am not comfortable in professional work settings. Offices give me the willie*s. Maybe they are part of the game too . 

I’ve worked in an office. Each time it felt like a denial of self. A slow death.  It took me away from what felt natural.

Is this an aversion to modern life ?  I am not entirely sure. 

*  *  *  *  *  *

Working outdoors is an absolute pleasure . Any weather , I’m not fussed .  

*  *  *  *  *  *

Does any of this explain ‘You don’t bring me flowers any more’ ?  No, not really . Like I said , It was the first thing that came into my head.  

About In a Welsh Garden

Artist,Illustrator,Pro-face and body painter,Blogger and Happy Gardener : )
This entry was posted in Artist, Artist Blogs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.